Dark Chocolate Nutella Muffins

“This morning – with her. Having coffee.” – Johnny Cash, when asked for his definition of paradise.

I’ve always loved the simplicity of this quote, never super relevant to me as I never have been a coffee drinker (and never will be), but I think it speaks to the simpler things in life. What goes better with morning coffee than some good conversation with a loved one? These muffins, that’s what.

That might be a bit of an overstatement, but I’ll tell ya what – these muffins are the perfect combination of gooey, chocolatey¬†goodness and I’d be happy to eat them for breakfast every day.

choco-nutella-muffins-7

If you’re going to make them for your next weekend breakfast event, I highly recommend trying a cold brew coffee to accompany. We made this batch with Dark Star from Little Amps Coffee, a local coffee company located here in Harrisburg, PA. While we will probably always stop in the shop for our beans, they also just recently started selling them at the local Wegman’s store – they’re making big steps!

choco-nutella-muffins-6

My U.S. Capitol mug is without a doubt my favorite mug in the collection. For those of you who don’t know, I’m a part-time political junkie in my free time (lol). I somehow made it my entire life without ever really spending time in D.C. and this year I made it down twice in 2 months! While I could never live in D.C., it will forever have a special place in my heart and living just a short 2 hours away from the city is good enough in my book.

This mug is the first in my set – up next I’m looking for a good White House mug & a Supreme Court mug. Gotta collect all three branches of the government, am I right?

Chocolate Nutella Muffins

Makes ~1 dozen muffins.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup Hershey’s Extra Dark Cocoa Powder
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup veggie oil
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups dark chocolate chips
  • ~ 1/2 cup Nutella, if desired
  • sanding sugar, for decoration

Directions

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and line your muffin pan. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

Whisk together the eggs, sugar, veggie oil and vanilla until well-combined. Stir in the sour cream until smooth. Slowly fold in the flour mixture until just combined, followed by 1 1/2 cups of the chocolate chips.

Divide evenly between the muffin tins and sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips and enough sanding sugar to create a nice layer on the tops of the muffins. Bake at 400 degrees for 10 minutes and then reduce the heat to 350 for another 5 minutes. This helps the tops rise quickly to give you a prominent muffin top!

Remove from the oven and let cool on a cooling rack. Scoop the Nutella into a piping bag. Using a wooden skewer, poke holes in the tops of the muffins. Pipe the Nutella into the holes to fill the muffins with a gooey center. Drizzle any remaining you have on top of the muffins & enjoy!

Chocolate Nutella Muffins

One Comment Add yours

  1. Mom says:

    Love it. Nothing like Johnny Cash, coffee and a great muffin. Looking forward to making these and enjoying our conversation next time you are home.

    Like

Leave a Reply

